Noisey engine accessories?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noisey engine accessories?

Somethin' under the hood of my 91' ain't too happy on cold start-up (and it's gettin' cold around here).
    Noisey, kinda' like a cross between power steering groan and electrical "whine".
    Goes away once warmed up.

Water pump and power steering pump both recently replaced.

Checked it out today when I started it.
    It sounds like it's on the pasenger side so I guess it's not the alternator.

I'm thinking it's the A/C compessor (bearings?) or the smog pump.
    Are these things normally noisey when they are cold?

PS- my previous 1981 CV was de-smogged and had no A/C so I have little experience with these things on a CV.
    Former panther owner
    1981 CV 351 4bbl
    1991 CV 302 EFI

Could be either... I have had TWO smog pumps replaced due to noise... sounded like they were about to self destruct. I think when they rebuild them, they NEVER replace the bearings! The A/C clutch could be starting to rattle too....

Tom....

Agent Caitlin Todd… You know Tony, Statistics show that married men live longer…
    Agent Tony DiNozzo… It only seems longer….

http://www.tomspolicecars.com/

Comment

mine is getting a high pitched sound when cold..sounds like a belt but i dont know which
      sigpic

- 1990 Ford LTD Crown Victoria P72 - the street boat - 5.0 liter EFI - Ported HO intake/TB, 90 TC shroud/overflow, Aero airbox/zip tube, Cobra camshaft, 19lb injectors, dual exhaust w/ Magnaflows, Cat/Smog & AC delete, 3G alternator, MOOG chassis parts & KYB cop shocks, 215/70r/15s on 95-97 Merc rims

- 2007 Ford Escape XLT - soccer mom lifted station wagon - 3.0 Duratec, auto, rear converter delete w/ Magnaflow dual exhaust

- 2008 Mercury Grand Marquis Ultimate Edition - Daily driver - 4.6 2 valve Mod motor, 4R75E, 2.73s. Bone stock

Comment

You can take off a belt in question and run the car a bit and listen if the sound went away or not to rule out the belt.